This character is a walking headache

I can't forget him, even if he's not real

In true Jay fashion, I had a dream about a group of misfit people trapped in the rambling garden of a huge, rambling house, located right there in the midst of a giant supersized infinite suburban hell. Clearly the geography was not of Earth, because the place wouldn't allow the characters to retrace their steps, and the way back was far longer than the way there. There being, wherever the hell they were going. For a dream that was just about people wandering around, there sure was a lot of fighting doors because the other side doesn't always connect to the same places both ways. And just as my plucky characters were irrevocably lost in this beautiful garden of mirrors and black doors and waters where you can't drown, separated by infinite distance from the house where they had to reach to finish their quest - of more wandering, apparently-

...That's when the main character of this escapade walked into my head, and said, "Hi! I'm Zecozizas. Don't forget it!" No, I'm serious, that's exactly how he said it. Which would sound cool, except...he kept saying it. Every time he introduced himself to someone new. This guy looks like a tech bro cowboy. He is always smiling. He is twisty as a corkscrew in a wormhole, but he's just so damn happy to exist you can't get mad at him. He shows up when you least expect him, but always when you need him.

He then proceeded to teach my lost character how to ride a broomstick with training wheels back to the big house, and was promptly fascinated by computers. I can't wait to introduce him to the horrors of social media. I think that might actually break him.

I'm looking forward to it.

I'm still not sure what I'm going to do with this setting. Creepy old gardens and infinite houses appear to be a recurring theme with me, so this is yet another addition to go into my back pocket.

I'm still mad that I never got to see the creepy old house. I was cheated. Cheated, I tell you!

It's funny though, I do actually need a wizard character in my current WIP, Blackwater, so I'm putting him in the book. He is sure to annoy everyone into a headache, as he did me.

Zecozias, my brightly patterned tech bro space wizard. He thinks he’s The Doctor.

He’s so annoying and loud. I love him.

Now comes the hard part: writing.

Until next time, readers!

Jay V. Aster Signature