DRAGGUN. DRANGON. DRAGONS! They're here!

Dragon riders are awesome

The sun outside is the color of golden apples, which is deceptive, becasue we're about to get a hurricane today. Time to sit outside and eat ice cream and watch the chaos. It's the sort of day where I ought to see dragons lighting up the sky over the mountains like jewels, because dragons would be beautiful, rain or shine. And holy shit, now I want to see dragons fighting a hurricane. I wonder who would win.

Because DRAGGUN. DRANGON. DRAGONS. Nothing draws me in like dragons! Even if they don't do that tongue thing!

I've got dragons on my mind because I'm currently reading Fourth Wing by Rebecca Yarros. I've heard pretty good reviews of this one, and so far I'm very much enjoying it. My fog brain has been acting up so progress is slow, but it's there. It's nice to hold a physical book in my hands again. It's been way too long! I love that the world is dark and brutal. I love that it's so dangerous. And I love that the main character has Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, the same disability I do! Hers manifests differently than mine does, but I love seeing someone like me survive in a gritty world I enjoy reading!

Of course, I probably would have died from the beginning because I don't have main character armor. We don't talk about that in Jay's fantasy land. In Jay's fantasy land, anything goes and everyone ends up happy. Because I love happy endings, which not everyone gets, sadly, either in reality or in the actual novel. I say that, but while I love torturing my characters and making them earn that happy ending, I do love working up to a happy ending. It makes me happy!

And while we're on the subject of dragons and endings, meet Luvalda Nadrauthivar!

A picture of my dragon rider, Luvalda Nadrauthivar. She’s wearing a loose shirt, leather pants, boots, and is holding a knife. She’s standing next to a giant green dragon.

She's a dragon rider in my story Starfall. My dragon riders aren't quite as dark or grim as the ones in Fourth Wing, and they are more part of the background characters.

In the actual story, Luvalda is actually an ex dragon rider because the order was disbanded. The dragons and humans split because of a fight. The dragons drowned. Now she works for the Empire as an advisor, because she is very well informed, and she's clever and wise. I love her because she's not young. Her age and wisdom are a huge benefit, and people respect her. If anything though, she's a little too much in the Empire's pocket, despite the fact that the Empire has done some problematic things. She feels that she owes them her life and isn't willing to go against them. Not to mention, she wants her dragon to remain safe even though they’re separated, and if she acts out, her dragon gets hurt.

Luvalda is also the one who raised Gerilt Vintern, my cunning and calculating mage, who features more prominently in the story.

A picture of my mage, Gerilt Vintern. He’s wearing a long black robe and has silver hair and is stretching a skein of bubbling light between his hands.

Gil is the one who is the Empire's biggest power, and later the biggest thorn in its side. You do not want to cross Gil. He will end you. He is the most morally ambiguous character in the story. He's driven, and hates mediocrity. But he's not after power, at least not on his own account. Probably the only one who can control him is Luvalda.

For now.

Gil and Luvalda used to be close, but they might have some tensions coming in between them because Gil doesn't function on all-consuming loyalty like Luvalda does. He constantly questions everything, and is willing to do anything for a cause he’s committed to. He wants a better world, in his own twisted way.

Aaaaand it’s getting darker now. This hurricane is about to HIT, guys - both literally and in my mind. I can’t wait to dive into Starfall in order to explore these relationships more!

To that end, I leave you with a question - what are your favorite types of dragons? Cute and bubbly? Dark and menacing? Telepathic and dangerous? A derp with scales? Be sure to write back - I love hearing from you!

Until next time!

Jay V. Aster Signature